Palazzo del Magnifico
History of the Palazzo
The Palazzo was built on commission from Pandolfo Petrucci in 1508, by Domenico di Bartolomeo based on a design by Giacomo Cozzarelli, becoming one of the most sumptuous residences of the time, furnished by the most important artists present in Siena at the end of the 15th century. Today only the architectural structure remains since the furnishings and decorations were dismembered during the nineteenth century, and today they are kept in the most important city and foreign museums. Great importance was represented by the main hall located on the noble floor, which the Magnificent had decorated by the most successful artists, including Pinturicchio, Luca Signorelli and Girolamo Genga. Currently part of the ceiling is kept at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.
located in a strategic position both to get to know the city from a historical-cultural point of view and for shopping and the city’s nightlife, it majestically overlooks Via dei Pellegrini, whose facade was originally decorated with numerous bells and refined bronze bracelets, now preserved in the Public Palace; continuing along Piazza San Giovanni where the imposing Baptistery stands out, whose unfinished facade, mainly in black and white marble, dominates the small but charming square.
The Palace stands on the right side of the Baptistery, and continues climbing along the famous staircase of San Giovanni which leads to the north wall of the unfinished “New Cathedral”.
Legend has it that right on this staircase, the patroness of Siena, of Italy and co-patroness of Europe, was pushed by the devil and fell to the ground on one of the first steps from above, today marked by a cross.